Armor of skepticism

For years, I watched
two people who were crazy
(in general & about each other)
eviscerate their vows
then (not) resolve everything with
“I just love you too much.”

For years, I used
those instances & disappointments
(with unworthy boys)
to forge an armor of skepticism
behind which I hid and thought,
“No one can hurt me this way.”

For years, I figured
that it was safer to write
about (the kind of) love
that seemed to exist
in other people’s lives
or in a work of fiction.

Yet all it took was
an earnest man’s kiss
to strip away years of doubt
and his strong embrace tethered me
to a new world where anything was possible
because we were together.

Leave a Reply

