Things I never knew about love

(There’s only so much I observed and deemed true, before experiencing it.)

If you’re like me, you have a list of “things I will never deal with — ever.” It consists of range of pet peeves like “someone who leaves towels on the floor” to serious things like “someone who wants to have kids,” if you don’t. There are certain people who never deviate from their list. My list disintegrated.

If you’re like me, vocalizing feelings isn’t your strong suit. It doesn’t come naturally. Once you begin confiding in each other, it’s a foundation of ease on which you build. That foundation is a safe haven when the unexpected happens. I’m relieved we help each other cope with what comes our way, instead of exacerbating the situation.

If you’re like me, you didn’t realize that a significant other would be your best friend. It’s not like you have many close friends of the opposite sex. Yet, this is the person you trust most and with whom you spend the majority of your time. There’s nothing that I look forward to more than our adventures. There’s nothing I love more than beginning and ending each day together.

Leave a Reply

