Things I never say

There are things I never say
(but should)
because I’m unlearning decades
of the conditioned response
to bottle up (or write about)
emotions that are not discussed.

I never say
that you’ve (almost) turned me
into a morning person
because of your unstoppable energy
at dawn, when you’re convinced
we can do anything.

I never say
that in college, I couldn’t fathom
a weekend where I would rather
watch Netflix and cuddle
instead of doing shots and dancing
at (or on) bars.

I never say
that I knew you were The One
on our first (not) date.
(Even though I really I should.)
But maybe I’ll just show you
this instead.

2 thoughts on “Things I never say

Leave a Reply

