When rules of civility don’t apply

The train commute is worst
when a stranger confronts you.

What’s wrong?
You should smile.

Glare instead.

Why are you pissed?
I was trying to cheer you up.

Roll your eyes.

I don’t know you.

Scoff as he slinks away.

Hey little lady! 
I like your legs in those shorts!

Walk faster towards your car.

I’m not scary!
Why won’t you talk to me?

As though a catcaller’s car rolling slowly
beside you isn’t threatening (or obnoxious).

Don’t be a bitch,
I was paying you a compliment.

Wave your mace as you drive off.
Rules of civility don’t apply to creeps.

6 thoughts on “When rules of civility don’t apply

Leave a Reply

