“K-Mart is a real romantic place!”

My favorite question to ask couples is: “How did you meet?”

The way they respond reveals a lot about their relationship. New couples are hesitant and reticent. Couples who have been together for a long time alternate who tells which part of the story. They exchange smiles. The narrative flow is perfect. Some couples bicker over the details. They argue about who approached whom first and what the other was wearing.

The way a couple shares the story reflects their everyday dynamic. It’s more telling than proposal stories. The majority of proposals are orchestrated. There’s nothing natural about a carefully staged time to “pop the question.” Proposal stories are sweet. But the story about the first time a couple met is usually more magical.

I’ll be sharing the best “meet cute” stories that I’ve been told in this post and in future posts. (I have yet to check the veracity of my coworkers’ stories with their spouses.)

Dusty, how did you and your wife meet?”

“We met after I got back from the Marine Corps.”

“There’s gotta be more than that.”

“Well, I was workin’ on my truck and realized I needed to change out the oil, so I went to K-Mart to get some.”

“Was she shopping, too?”

“Nah, she was workin’.”

“This sounds like the beginning of a Jeff Foxworthy joke. You might be a redneck if — “

“K-Mart is a real romantic place!”

“You were saying…?”

“There I was, wearin’ a white t-shirt with cut-off sleeves ‘n’ ratty jeans — ‘cuz nobody ever wears his nice shit while workin’ on his truck –“

“Some girls are into that.”

” — ‘n’ that’s when I saw her. I thought she was real cute, so I went to her checkout line to talk to her. After tryna flirt with her, she gave me her number!”

“Clearly, your wife liked the greased up mechanic look.”

“Keep in mind, this was after I got outta the Marine Corps. I was in the best shape I’d ever been in.”

“I knew there was a reason you’d wear a shirt with the sleeves cut off.”

“Gotta work with whatcha got.”

15 thoughts on ““K-Mart is a real romantic place!”

  1. Met the husband in Ghana where we both worked for a year. Nothing really romantic … But you know what… it was actually his voice that sort of got me. This may sound cheesy, but it’s like I knew the sound of his voice long before I met him. Strange huh? And then the very first time I met his father, he told him, that I’m his soul-mate. His father is very typical British, you know the stiff-upper-lip-type. He wears a tie even at home! What I’m trying to say is definitely not the type who’d say something corny like that, but he said it.

    Like

    • I’m flailing right now, Dean! 😀 That is a beautiful & romantic story! It’s amazing that y’all each other was the one on a soul mate level. Also cracked up at the image of a sort of stodgy old British man talking about love & soul mates.

      Like

  2. Aw, I love Dusty’s story! You’ve conveyed it so well here. And I’m still laughing over “K-Mart is a real romantic place!” 🙂

    Like

    • 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed it, Miranda! Dusty likes to pretend he’s the stereotypical meathead redneck, but it’s just not the case. (Whatever his wife says goes — it’s hilarious!)

      Like

    • Thanks so much, Tracie! 😀 I’ll be writing about other “meet cute” stories that people have told me soon. Even if I don’t have kids, your blog is really relatable, just from what I’ve read so far!

      Like

  3. Pingback: “Nobody would watch a movie about kids working on a farm who fall in love!” | sometimes, Samantha writes

  4. Pingback: “Can you answer a question about The Facebook?” | sometimes, Samantha writes

Leave a Reply

