Schadenfreude is inevitable when the person everyone hates is suffering.

No one likes that guy (who is also known as Dementor) at work.

Dementor terrorizes everyone, so it’s not a surprise that he only has enemies here. Old Jim tolerates him because they share so many cases. People have waited years for karma to kick his ass. This week proved to be the beginning of his comeuppance.

The other day, Dementor left mid-afternoon because a pipe burst in his basement. We got reprieve from him for the rest of the day. This morning, he stomped into my office.

“Sam, do you know what happened to my coffee mug?” Dementor’s usually pale face was red and pinched with rage.

“Nope. The only mugs I’ve seen are the ones in the cabinet. Why?”

“Someone took mine out of my office and made a mess on the floor!”

“I have no clue.” I shrugged, turning back to my computer.

A few minutes later, the HR director called me.

“Samantha, you don’t think Mike would’ve –”

“Definitely not.”

“Okay, just making sure. Dementor emailed our boss, who suggested that it was the new maintenance crew who could’ve broken his mug while cleaning his office.”

“Dementor must not have anything better to do.”

“It just isn’t his week, is it?” She stifled a laugh.

“Apparently. Maybe he’ll start being nicer to people so bad things stop happening to him.”

Still.

Schadenfreude is inevitable when the person everyone hates is suffering.

4 thoughts on “Schadenfreude is inevitable when the person everyone hates is suffering.

  1. I’m glad you have the poise to relish the schadenfreude in a very graceful way! I couldn’t have been nearly so patient if he’d interrupted my work, and I most likely would have blurted, “You’re bothering me over a damn coffee mug?” Love the nickname you all have given this guy. Sounds like a good fit!

    Like

    • For real, Miranda. Everyone else heard about it & is just like -_- “Why does a grown man throw a tantrum over a coffee mug?!” Thank you! We try to look on the bright side of having to work with this dude. Lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

